Nice Nagging is Still Nagging. Dang.

winter_pic

This it the first entry I made in my journal I referenced in yesterday’s post.

THE SCENE:

Morning before school getting Ian ready.

WHAT WAS HAPPENING:

Ian wanted to go outside. I said that before he did, he should brush his teeth. He resisted a little, but much.

WHAT I DID:

I used a kind, patient voice… neutral and not irritated. But I did stay on his case and didn’t give him time to just do it at his own pace.

NOTES:

It worked fine. But nice nagging is still nagging. Hmmm.

****************************

Later that same day…

****************************

THE SCENE:

When school bus arrived to drop kids back off because heat not working at school.

WHAT WAS HAPPENING:

Ian was getting off the bus. He was happy not to have to go to school.

WHAT I DID:

As a surprise, I brought the big black sled to the bus stop. I asked him if he’d like me to pull him home. He was so happy. Then he was concerned. The sidewalk didn’t have much snow on it. I said I’d pull it in the road. “What if a car comes?” he asked. I said, that there shouldn’t be much traffic on that part of the street at this time of day, but we’d just watch out for it and pull over. He decided to ride looking backwards and smiled and laughed and said “Wahoo!” a lot.

When we were getting to the house, I said, “You want to take one run down the big hill with me?” … Yeah! he said. So we did. “Are you going to ride with me?” he asked at the top. This is telling to me, that he had to ask. We need more stuff like this. “Yup,” I said. I kept us on the side and drove us gently into a snow bank near the bottom since we didn’t want to go out into Straw Ave where a car *could* be coming.

NOTES:

This was good.

Leave a Reply

