A Good Time to let my 6-Year-Old Be in Charge

photoHere’s my December 30th entry in my “Giving Good Attention to Kids” Observation Journal (referenced in my Dec 15th, 2013 post).

THE SCENE:

At Memere’s house. (Memere is my husband’s grandmother).

WHAT WAS HAPPENING:

Ian asked me if I’d help him build his new lego set.

WHAT I DID:

I said, “Sure!” And we sat down together to do it. It was interesting because it didn’t take long to realize that he had a way it wanted to go, and I had a way I wanted it to go. Where to put the lego pieces, where to put the instruction book, who finds the pieces, who builds the next step, etc.

I kept checking myself though… to defer to his way. Totally the right thing to do for this exercise. It was absolutely a place where he should be in charge and in control.

The eye-opening thing for me is how much and how often I wanted to control things. Even little things that just don’t matter. Sheesh!

Leave a Reply

